fbpx

Boards Requirements

By State

Approved CE Provider

ThinkCEU is accredited as a provider of continuing nursing education by the Florida Board of Nursing. Provider Number # 50-25750. Reciprocity applies between State Boards of Nursing in regards to Board Recognized Continuing Education Providers.

For example

A Continuing Education Provider which is accredited by one State Board of Nursing, is recognized by another Board of Nursing providing that criteria for accreditation is substantially similar. Information for each state is shown below.

Florida Board​s

 

CE Requirements for Nurses in Florida

Florida Nurses need 24 hours every 2 years (biannual)

 

RN / LPN

Required Courses:

  • Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace – 2 hours (starting August 1, 2017, and every other biennium thereafter) 
  • Prevention of Medical Errors, 2 hours (every renewal)
  • Domestic Violence – 2 hour (every 3rd renewal). The domestic violence hours are in addition to the 24 hours required for renewal.
  • HIV AIDS – 1 hour (a 1 time requirement to be completed before the first renewal)
  • Florida Nursing Laws and Rules – 2 hours 
  • Human Trafficking – Required every biennium beginning January 1, 2019. The first licensees who will need to fulfill this CE requirement are those renewing April 30, 2019

 

APRN

Required Courses: 

  • Recognizing Impairment in the Workplace – 2 hours (starting August 1, 2017, and every other biennium thereafter) 
  • Prevention of Medical Errors, 2 hours (every renewal)
  • Domestic Violence – 2 hour (every 3rd renewal). The domestic violence hours are in addition to the 24 hours required for renewal.
  • HIV AIDS – 1 hour (a 1 time requirement to be completed before the first renewal)
  • Florida Nursing Laws and Rules – 2 hours 
  • Human Trafficking – Required every biennium beginning January 1, 2019. The first licensees who will need to fulfill this CE requirement are those renewing April 30, 2019
  • Safe and effective prescription of controlled substances 

 

Florida Certified Nurse Assistants Requirements

Florida CNA’s are required to complete 24 inservice hours every 2 years.

CNA

Required Florida CNA Courses:

1. Bloodborne Pathogens, Infection Control

2. Domestic Violence

3. Medical Record Documentation and Legal Aspects Appropriate to Nursing Assistants

4. Resident Rights

5. Communication with Cognitively Impaired Clients

6. CPR Skills

7. Medical Error Prevention and Safety

Florida Massage Therapist Requirements

  • First Biennial Renewal Only
  • 12 hr/Continuing Education (CE) Requirements
  • Prevention of Medical Errors 2Hrs/CE This course is required for all licensed health care practitioners per section 456.013(7), F.S.
  • General Hours 1 hour of CE for each month or partial month that has elapsed since the issuance of the license. Although there are no specific CE subject area requirements for first time renewals.

* One hour per month is not literal You may complete these hours at any time prior to the renewal deadline. For example, if you are licensed for 12 months, you will need 12 total hours, including the two hour Prevention of Medical Errors course.

 

Following Your First Renewal

***Please Note ThinkCEU does not offer live courses for Massage Therapists***

At least 12 hours must be taken live and must be relevant to and focused on massage therapy techniques, which may include:

  • the history of massage,
  • human anatomy & physiology,
  • kinesiology, and/or
  • pathology.

These hours must be completed via live classroom instruction (including hands-on instruction or demonstration).

The remaining 6 general hours may include, but are not limited to:

  • courses in communication with clients and other professionals;
  • insurance relating to third party payment or reimbursement for services;
  • psychological dynamics of the client-therapist relations;

Risk management, including charting, documentation, record keeping or infection control or massage practice management.

  • Prevention of Medical Errors 2hrs/CE
  • Laws and Rules 2 hrs/CE
  •  Professional Ethics 2 hrs /CE

 

Certified Behavioral Health 

Case Manager 

 CBHCM

Requirements

  • 10 hours per year for a total of 20 due at each renewal period. Training content must be related to at least one of the CBHCM performance domains.
  • CEU hours must be non-repetitive (i.e., the same course cannot be claimed more than one time during each credentialed period, even if the course is taken annually).

 

Florida Board of Clinical

Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy And Mental Health Counseling 

 

Requirements.

 

REQUIRED SUBJECT AREA

REQUIRED NUMBER OF HOURS

IMPORTANT INFORMATION

General Hours

25

 

Medical Errors

2

Must be taken from a Board approved Medical Errors provider. Approved courses are listed in CEBroker.

Ethics and Boundaries
or
Telehealth

3

Either course can be taken in alternating biennial renewal periods.

Laws and Rules

3

These hours are required every third biennium and are included in the 25 general hours.

Domestic Violence

2

These hours are required every third biennium and are included in the 25 general hours.

Qualified Supervisor Training

4

These hours are required every third biennium for Qualified Supervisors only and are included in the 25 general hours. NOTE: Not required for renewal until 03/31/2023

Total

30

 


First Biennium Renewal:
  Practitioners initially licensed and renewing a license for the first time are exempt from completing continuing education

Qualified Supervisor Continuing Education (CE) Renewal Requirements

On November 7, 2016 the Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage & Family Therapy and Mental Health Counseling amended rule 64B4-6.001(5) regarding continuing education for qualified supervisors (Q.S.). A qualified supervisor who was deemed qualified on or before March 31, 2017 must complete 4 hours of supervisor training continuing education before March 31, 2023. This requirement will reoccur every third biennium. The current biennium is not included in the calculation.

Biennium 1 = April 1, 2017 – March 31, 2019 [Not required, but if a Q.S. takes the course, it will reset their clock until third biennium.]

Biennium 2 = April 1, 2019 – March 31, 2021 [Not required, but if a Q.S. takes the course, it will reset their clock until third biennium.]

Biennium 3 = April 1, 2021 – March 31, 2023 [Required if the Q.S. did not take the course in one of the two previous cycles.]

A licensee deemed qualified between April 1, 2017 and March 31, 2019 is required to complete the 4 hour course by March 31, 2025.

A licensee deemed qualified between April 1, 2019 and March 31, 2021 is required to complete the 4 hour course by March 31, 2027.

   

West Virginia​

 

Continuing Education (CE)

Registered Professional Nurses

 Pursuant to the West Virginia Legislative Code of Rule WV 19 CSR 11:

Registered Nurse License Renewal CE Requirements

  • Registered nurses are required to complete 12 hours of continuing education during each renewal period. This includes required continuing education per Chapter 30-1-7a annually for best prescribing and drug diversion training if they prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances, and for mental health conditions common to veterans and their families.

O exception, if a registered nurse is initially licensed on or after November 1 of the license renewal period, they only have to do the required CE per Chapter 30-1-7a for best prescribing and drug diversion training if they prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances, and for mental health conditions common to veterans and their families.

Per Chapter 30-1-7a, each person licensed to practice registered professional nursing must:

  • Complete 2 contact hrs of CE for mental health conditions common to veterans and their families annually, and
  • Complete 3 contact hours initially and then 1 contact hour, thereafter, annually of CE for best prescribing and drug diversion training if you prescribe, administer or dispense controlled substances.

The guidelines and resources for continuing education for best prescribing practice and drug diversion training and mental health conditions common to veterans and their families are located under the resource tab on the West Virginia RN Board website at wvrnboard.wv.gov.

The West Virginia Board of Examiners for Registered Professional nurses accepts RN CE contact hours provided by a Board approved RN CE provider. Examples of Board approved RN CE providers include:

  • National advanced practice registered nurse certification bodies (i.e. American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP), American Midwifery Certification Board (AMCB), American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), National Board of Certification & Recertification for Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA), National Certification Corporation (NCC) and Pediatric Nursing Certification Board (PNCB);
  • National and state nurse associations (i.e., American Nurses Association (ANA), West Virginia Nurses Association (WVNA), American Association of Nurse Anesthetists (AANA), etc.); and
  • Any State Board of Nursing in the US.

The Board performs audits to verify registered nurse licensee compliance with continuing education requirements. Obtain and keep CE certificates of completion for continuing education activities! Activate your West Virginia RN Board CE Broker Basic account to enter and track your compliance with West Virginia RN and APRN license Renewal Requirements as follows using a computer:

Visit https://www.cebroker.com/wv/plans 

Arkansas

 

Continuing Education (CE)

Registered Nurse 

RN

License Renewal CE Requirements

  • Arkansas RNs are required to complete 15 hours of CE to renew a license
  • If the license is expired or inactive, a total of 20 hours must be completed
  • Arkansas RN licenses must be renewed before the last day of the licensee’s birth month. Renewal applications should include certificates of completed CEs.

 

South Carolina

 

Continuing Education (CE)

RN

CE Requirements

POPULAR COURSES

  • Screening Guidelines and Preventive Healthcare Programs- 8.0 hrs
  • Healthy Pregnancy- 5.0 hrs
  • Human Trafficking- 2 hrs
  • HIV/AIDS – 4 hrs
  • Bloodborne Pathogens and Infection Control – 2 hrs
  • Child Abuse – 2 hrs 
  • OSHA – 2 hrs
  • Hippa – 1 hr 

 

 Continuing Education (CE)

Funeral Services

CE Requirements

  • Human Embalming Techniques: A Review